Lal Krishna Advani one of the co-founders of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and a member of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS), a right-wing Hindu nationalist volunteer organisation.  The longest serving minister of Home affairs serving from 1998 to 2004. He is also the longest serving leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. He was the prime ministerial candidate of the BJP during the 2009 General election.


In 1980, he was one of the founding members of the BJP along with Atal Bihari Vajpayee and served as the president of the party three times. He was elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time in 1989 where he served seven terms. He has served as leader of opposition in both the houses. He was the minister of home affairs from 1998 to 2004 and deputy prime minister from 2002 to 2004. He served in the  Indian Parliament until 2019 and is credited for rise of BJP as a major political party. In 2015, he was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second highest civilian honour and in 2024, he was conferred with Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour.

PM Narendra Modi has announced this morning that BJP veteran LK Advani to be conferred with Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India. Adding this Prime Minister said, his contribution to the India’s development was monumental, and is one of the most respected statesmen.

On Saturday, Lal Krishna Advani, a prominent figure in the BJP who played a pivotal role in bringing the party to national prominence through his Rath Yatra advocating for the construction of the Ram Temple in Ayodhya in the early 1990s, was honoured with the Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award.

In an official statement issued Advani wrote, “With utmost humility and gratitude, I accept the ‘Bharat Ratna’ that has been conferred on me today. It is not only an honour for me as a person, but also for the ideals and principles that I have strived to serve throughout my life to the best of my ability…”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *